Truman Theatre Earns Honors at Festival

Sixteen Truman theatre students and two faculty members traveled to Des Moines, Iowa., for the Region 5 KCACTF gathering, Jan. 22-28.

Students attended workshops in acting, directing and design, watched invited productions, and auditioned and interviewed for professional work. They also networked with theatre students and faculty from Missouri, Minnesota, Kansas, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota. Brad Carlson, assistant professor of theatre, served as the chair of the region, and Cat Gleason, assistant professor, coordinated the devised theatre program.

The following students were recognized for their work at the festival:
•    Jack Danter, Heart of the Art for “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” and Digital Lobby Display for “Bhagavadajjukam”
•    Me Crouch, student advisory board member
•    Lydia Lamb, Irene Ryan semifinalist in acting with Regan Bohanan, scene partner
•    Caroline Million, Irene Ryan semifinalist in acting with Regan Bohanan, scene partner

 KCACTF also recognized the work of University theatre departments throughout the course of the year. Truman theatre artists received the following certificates of merit:
•    Sav Scarbrough for costume design, “5 Lesbians Eating a Quiche”
•    David Charles Goyette for directing, “Matilda”
•    Brad M. Carlson for scenic design, projections and lighting, “Matilda”
•    Brittain Cooper for musical direction, “Matilda”
•    Cast, crew and creatives for collaborative spirit, “Matilda”
•    DeAnna Rowe and Ray Billedo for costume design, “Matilda”
•    Kayla Cotter and Dariya Kucheryaba for dialect coaching, “Matilda”
•    Emma Lewis for choreography, “Matilda”
•    Addie McGrath for sound design, “The Revolutionists”

Previous Next