Students Honored with Goldwater Scholarship


(Pictured left to right) Maria Di Stefano, associate vice president for academic affairs and graduate dean, Truman President Barbara Dixon, Goldwater Award recipient Adam Gouge, and mentors Dana Vazzana, associate professor of mathematics, and David Garth, associate professor of mathematics.

Adam Gouge, a junior mathematics and physics double major from Joplin, Mo., and David Kiblinger, a sophomore mathematics and physics double major from Cape Girardeau, Mo., are among the recipients of the 2007 Goldwater Scholarships. Kiblinger is studying abroad in Hungary this semester.

The Board of Trustees of the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation awarded 317 scholarships to sophomore and junior undergraduates from the United States.

Goldwater Scholars are selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of 1,110 mathematics, science, and engineering students who were nominated by the faculties of colleges and universities nationwide.

Goldwater Scholars have very impressive academic qualifications that have garnered the attention of prestigious post-graduate fellowship programs.
The foundation awards one- and two-year scholarships that cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year.

Previous Next