Change in Leadership for Truman’s STEP Program

As of May 15, Jason Miller, associate professor of mathematics, and Maria Nagan, assistant professor of chemistry, will officially become the project director and co-director, respectively, for Truman's Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Talent Expansion Program, better known as STEP.

Jeffrey Osborn, professor and convener of biology, has headed the program since its inception in 2004, and was instrumental in winning the $2 million, five-year award from the National Science Foundation. Osborn has recently accepted the position of Dean of the School of Science at The College of New Jersey.

STEP is one of the largest and most prestigious awards Truman has ever received. It supports undergraduate research and draws faculty and students from three community college partners in Moberly, St. Louis and Kansas City, Mo., to Truman's campus. One of the primary goals of the STEP program is to increase the number of talented community college students who transfer to Truman, and to ensure that these students graduate with science, technology, engineering and mathematics degrees. STEP also provides faculty-mentored summer research opportunities for Truman students and offers a variety of other opportunities for curriculum enrichment and faculty development.

Previous Next