Theta Alpha Kappa Inducts New Members

Truman’s chapter of Theta Alpha Kappa, a national honor society for religious studies, inducted two new members, Alison Stagner and Amy Johnson, in a special meeting May 8. At a pre-commencement meeting, the two new inductees were given honor cords to wear. Inductees from last year, Ben Batzer and Jasmine Johnston, were also given honor cords.

Established in 1976, Theta Alpha Kappa has grown to more than two hundred chapters nationally, ranging from smaller liberal arts colleges to large public research institutions. It is the only national honor society dedicated to promoting academic excellence in baccalaureate and post-baccalaureate students in the field of religious studies. The society also maintains a vigorous national program of scholarship and fellowship competitions, including annual awards and the publication of outstanding student papers.

Back row, left to right: Professors Dereck Daschke, David Murphy, Lloyd Pflueger, Mike Ashcraft and Mark Appold (TAK Moderator). Front row, left to right: Pat Burton and students Alison Stagner, Amy Johnson, Ben Batzer, Jasmine Johnson and professor Jennifer Jesse.
Previous Next