Truman Recognizes Community Partners

Kevin Baiotto, former coordinator of Kirksville’s Telecommunications Resource Center, received the “Community Partner of the Year Award” recognized at the Community Partner Appreciation Luncheon Nov. 3.

The Community Partner of the Year Award is given by the SERVE Center to an outstanding community member or agency that has worked closely with the University to promote public scholarship amongst Truman students.

Baiotto was nominated by Cody Hagan, SIFE president. He works with the Kirksville Sheltered Workshop, a business that creates meaningful employment opportunities for the developmentally disabled in the area. Truman SIFE members worked with Baiotto helping the managers of Kirksville Sheltered Workshop write a business plan that would enable them to set out on their own.

Baiotto’s outreach to Truman SIFE students helped them to gain experience in developing business plans and working with non-profit organizations. SIFE has also worked with Baiotto and the Kirksville Sheltered Workshop to create a manager evaluation form for the business.

Baiotto’s work with SIFE extends beyond the service opportunities he has helped the members find. He serves as a member of the organization’s Business Advisory Board and has been active in various facets of the organization. 

CommunityPartnerAwardNov2011 (1 of 2)online.jpg
Students present the Community Partner of the Year Award to Kevin Baiotto. From left to right: Jessie Eubank, SIFE vice president of communications; Baiotto, award recipient; Cody Hagan, SIFE president; and Lynn Dreisilker, event coordinator.

CommunityPartnerAwards2011 (10 of 12)online.jpg
The Community Partner of the Year Award nominees stand with their certificates. Back row, left to right: Terri Cross from Northeast Missouri Community Action Agency, Michelle Yoder of Kirksville Middle School, Breanne Hunt of Lifeline, Deb Wohlers of Adair County SB40/Developmental Disability Board, Kevin Harrison of K-Life and Nancy Pride of Kirksville Manor Care. Front row, left to right: SIFE members Tim Cooper, Jessie Eubank and Cody Hagan representing and collecting the award for Baiotto.