Theta Alpha Kappa Inducts New Members

ThetaAlphaKappa2011-10 online.jpg
Truman’s chapter of Theta Alpha Kappa national honor society for religious studies and theology inducted seven new members May 4. Pictured, front row, (left to right) are inductees: Marianne Cline, Aubrey Vaughn, Valerie Spencer, Ryan Harker, Lauren Greenspan, Michelle Martin and Amanda Brown. Pictured, back row, (left to right) are PHRE faculty: Jennifer Jesse, Ding-hwa Hsieh, Michael Ashcraft, David Murphy, Mark Appold (TAK Moderator), Dereck Daschke and Pat Burton. Established in 1976, Theta Alpha Kappa has grown to more than 200 chapters nationally in four-year educational institutions ranging from smaller liberal arts colleges to large public research institutions. It is the only national honor society dedicated to promoting academic excellence in baccalaureate and post-baccalaureate students in the field of religious studies. The society also maintains a vigorous national program of scholarship awards and fellowship competitions including annual awards and the publication of outstanding student papers.