Allen Fellowship for Faculty Excellence Accepting Nominations

The Office of the Provost is now accepting nominations for the Walker and Doris Allen Fellowship for Faculty Excellence. The Allens established the Fellowship in the year 2000 with a $250,000 gift to the Truman State University Foundation.
The $10,000 Walker and Doris Allen Fellowships recognize outstanding faculty members who have made exemplary contributions to the success of the University and its students. Up to three faculty members are selected each year.  The Fellowships are open to all tenured or tenure-track faculty who have completed at least four years of full-time service at Truman. Eligible faculty may be nominated for the Fellowship by Truman faculty colleagues or academic departments. Previous recipients are not eligible.

To date, the program has completed six years of a scheduled eight-year program, with 18 faculty members recognized with awards. Due to favorable investment returns, the fellowships are expected to continue until at least 2010.

To nominate an eligible faculty member, send a letter of nomination to the Office of the Provost addressed to the Allen Fellowship Selection Committee. The letter of nomination should be no longer than one page and should address how you believe the faculty member fulfills the selection criteria. Please deliver a signed hardcopy of the letter to McClain Hall 203, send it through campus mail, or by fax to 785.7460. See Web site for details, including the selection criteria and a list of prior recipients. Nominations are due to the Office of the Provost by Oct. 1.

Previous Next