Students Awarded NSF Fellowship

Erin Farmer, a senior biology major from Arma, Kan., and Tyler Young, a senior computer science major from Kearney, Mo., have both been awarded a competitive Graduate Research Fellowship from the National Science Foundation (NSF).

The NSF Fellowship program began in 1952 and is designed to support research-based graduate students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

The fellowship provides three years of support, including $10,500 in tuition assistance and a $30,000 stipend. This year the NSF received more than 13,000 submitted applications from students all over the country and made only 2,000 award offers. Farmer plans to attend the University of Kansas to pursue research in molecular biology. Young plans to defer his graduate school at this time.

Along with Farmer and Young, 2010 alumnus Will Petry and 2009 alumnus Josh Hirner received fellowships. Both attended and conducted research at the University of California, Irvine.