KTRM Honored with National Broadcasting Awards

Out of 1,000 college radio stations across the country, the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System awarded KTRM, Truman’s campus radio station, with two of its highest distinctions for “Best Station Manager” and “Best Program Director.”

Senior Geoffrey Woehlk was awarded “Best Station Manager” and junior Brooke Giddens was awarded “Best Program Director.” Other national finalists for management awards included Mark Smith for “Outstanding Advisor,” senior Eric Hallam for “Best Production Director,” and Giddens and junior Grace Salerno for “Best Promotions Directors.”

KTRM also had several finalists in content categories. Woehlk and senior Alexandria Witt were finalists for “Best News Interview,” Woehlk and senior Julie Quinn for “Best Community News,” Giddens for “Best Station/Promotional Event,” Giddens and junior Becky Smith for “Best Use of Social Media” and Giddens for “Best Celebrities/Artists Interview.” KTRM was also a finalist for “Best Website.”

Giddens had the most finalist nominations of any female west of the Mississippi River, was the fifth-most-nominated woman overall in the IBS this year, and was the only nominee to be a finalist in two different management categories.

KTRM was the only Missouri school to be a finalist, and had the most finalists of any school west of the Mississippi River. KTRM has a rich history of statewide awards, but this marks the first time the station has entered this national contest. IBS is home to more than 1,000 broadcast stations nationwide, comprising 90 percent of all affiliated student-run stations. Stations compete across 33 categories and all finalists receive a Golden Microphone Award. For more information about the awards and the IBS, visit ibsradio.org.
Previous Next