Athletics to Induct Hall of Fame Members

The 1998-99 Men’s Basketball team and Gerald Burditt will be inducted into the Truman Athletics Hall of Fame Oct. 9.

The 1998-99 Men’s Bulldog Basketball team advanced to the NCAA Final Four that season after winning their final eight conference regular season games, three conference tournament games (with two wins coming in the final seconds) and sweeping through the South Central regional tournament.

Members of the squad, coached by regional coach of the year Jack Schrader and assisted by John Sloop were: All-American Cory Parker, Academic All-American Jason Reinberg, Brian Brown, Jason Ramthun, Andy Guethle, Mike Peterson, Jason Ward, Chris Foulk, Spencer Douglas, AJ Crum, Kyle Eagan, Moni Fearn, Dusty Bruner, Donnie Daggett, Peter Aydt and Dan Mailath.

Gerald Burditt was the second leading scorer for a Bulldog Basketball team that captured the MIAA championship and advanced to the NCAA small college quarterfinals in 1959-60. Burditt earned first-team all-MIAA honors, averaging 15.1 points per game.

The Bulldogs won the conference championship that season and won 13 of their last 14 games after starting with a 4-3 record.

Burditt was previously a two-time second-team MIAA pick under head coach Boyd King and was named to the “Who’s Who in Small College Basketball” following the 1959-60 season.
Previous Next