Students Receive Journalism Awards


Truman Media Network brought home 14 awards from the Missouri College Media Association Conference, including multiple first and second place finishes.

TMN competed in division two against Webster University, Missouri Western State University, Northwest Missouri State University, Drury University and Missouri Southern State University.

Six students attended the MCMA conference at Lindenwood University, where they participated in journalism-focused workshops and attended an awards banquet with other student journalists across the state. Brently Snead, the Index editor-in-chief, will serve as the MCMA secretary for the 2018-19 conference at Missouri State University.

The awards and recipients include:

Truman Media Network Staff

First Place, Website

The Index

Second Place, Best Overall Newspaper

Kennedy Martin

Honorable Mention, Sports Writing

Rachel Steinhoff

Honorable Mention, Sports Writing

Nicolas Telep

First Place, Column Writing

Gordon McPherson

First Place, Entertainment Review

Kennedy Martin

Third Place, Sports Photography

Kennedy Martin
Honorable Mention, Sports Photography

Daniel Degenhardt

Honorable Mention, Feature Photography

Annie Kintree

Second Place, Nonpolitical/Entertainment Cartoon

Mariah Radle
Honorable Mention, Information Graphic

Rachel Steinhoff and Seth Wolfmeyer

Third Place, Sports Page

Rachel Steinhoff and Jeremy Jacob

Honorable Mention, Sports Page

Rachel Fechter

Second Place, Features Page
Previous Next