Smith Named Sigma Xi Teacher of the Year


Judith Misale (left), President Kirksville Chapter of Sigma Xi, presents and Louise Smith (right) with the Sigma Xi Teacher of the Year award.


Clark Spencer Larsen (left), Sigma Xi Distinguished Lecturer, and Judith Misale (right)

Louise Smith was named 2008 Teacher of the Year by Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society, at the annual banquet of the Kirksville Chapter April 24 at Truman State University.

This award is given to elementary and high school science teachers in northern Missouri who inspire a love of learning in their students and encourage and nurture students’ interest in science. Smith teaches fourth and fifth grade science at Adair County R-II in Brashear. She is excited about science and works hard to make science real for her students.

In addition to being the 2008 Sigma Xi Teacher of the Year, Smith recently received a Toyota Tapestry Science and Literacy grant that will allow her students a comprehensive comparison of Missouri and Antarctic ecosystems that will spawn not only investigation but also science education and outreach opportunities for the entire community.

At the same ceremony, Matthew Beaky, associate professor of physics at Truman, was named the Chapter’s 2008 Sigma Xi Researcher of the Year. Beaky is an accomplished and prolific scholar who is remarkable in his dedication to mentoring students at Truman through all stages of the research process. For all these reasons, Kirksville Sigma Xi salutes Beaky and Smith and their good work in facilitating the development of our scientists of tomorrow.

At the completion of the awards ceremony, Clark Spencer Larsen, Distinguished Professor of Social and Behavioral Sciences at The Ohio State University, presented a lecture titled, “In the Wake of Columbus: The Biological Consequences of Contact and Colonialism in the Americas.”
Previous Next