Truman to Induct 2011 Hall of Fame Members

Swimmer Jessica Martin, volleyball players Kirsten Bernthal and Neely Forbes, the 2001 national champion women’s swimming team and the 1969 national runner-up men’s tennis team will be the 2011 inductees to the Truman Athletic’s Hall of Fame at the Alumni and Friends Banquet. 

Martin was the 2001 winner of the Honda Award as the Division II Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. She won four individual national titles and was a member of two championship relay teams in leading the Bulldogs to the school’s first national title at the Division II Swimming & Diving Championships in Canton, Ohio. She was named the Division II Women’s Swimmer of the Year by the College Swim Coaches of America and finished her Truman career as a 21-time All-American.

The 2001 women’s swimming team claimed the Division II National Championship after finishing as a runner-up the previous season. That title would be the first of six straight national championships. While Martin took home four individual titles, including the national record in the 1000 freestyle, Kelli Dudley took first in the 100 backstroke event. Sara Hatcher, Katie May and Bryna Busch joined Martin atop the podium in the 200 Free Relay, while May and Martin, along with Liz Hug and Andrea Newton, were awarded gold medals in the 800 Free. The team, under the direction of head coach Seth Huston and assistant Colleen Murphy, scored 656 points to rival, Drury University. Members of the 2001 national championship team were Alison Blyth, Bryna Busch, Kelli Dudley, Sara Hatcher, Liz Hug, Jessica Martin, Katie May, Andrea Newton, Meghan Osborn, Krista Pray, Bridget Riley, Jen Vogt and Christie Williamsen.

Bernthal was the 1993 MIAA Freshman of the Year while breaking the school record for single-season assists as the setter for the volleyball squad. She became the first Truman player to earn All-Conference honors in each of her four seasons and left the University as the all-time assists leader. Bernthal was the 1996 MIAA Most Valuable Player, earning AVCA All-Region honors as well as being a College Sports Information Directors of America Academic All-District honoree. She was the state of Missouri’s nominee for the 1997 NCAA Woman of the Year Award. She is currently in her ninth season as head coach of the Creighton University volleyball program.

Forbes played from 1991-1994 and still holds the school record for matches played (163). She was the 1991 MIAA Freshman of the Year and was a three-time All-Conference player in leading the Bulldogs to a 105-58 record during her four seasons. She was a 1994 AVCA All-Region pick, then just the second in Truman history, and was selected to the CoSIDA Academic All-District team. Both Bernthal and Forbes led the 1994 Bulldog volleyball team to the school’s first-ever NCAA tournament appearance.

The 1969 Bulldog men’s tennis team came within one point of winning the NCAA College Division Championship. Ron Selkirk, Dave Romberg, Ken Clow and Kurt Marin accumulated 16 points, one shy of champion San Fernando Valley State, among the 30 teams entered in the event hosted in East Stroudsburg, Pa. Selkirk advanced to the semifinals of the national singles bracket and finished the season with an 18-5 mark while Romberg advanced to the quarterfinals before having his tournament come to an end. The duo was seeded first in the doubles draw and reached the finals before being defeated 6-3, 8-6 to finish as national runners-up. The team finished 12-2 in dual matches during the 1969 season and went on to claim their sixth straight MIAA Championship. Coached by H.A. Walmsely, other members of the 1969 squad were Fontaine Piper, Mike Darr and Ron Sterchi.