University Press Awards 2011 T. S. Eliot Prize

The Truman State University Press has awarded B. K. Fischer of Sleepy Hollow, N.Y., the 2011 T. S. Eliot Prize for Poetry.

Fischer’s winning poetry collection, “Mutiny Gallery,” was selected from more than 400 manuscripts in the 15th annual competition. As part of the award, Fischer receives $2,000 and publication of her book, which is scheduled for Fall 2011.

Fischer currently teaches at the Hudson Valley Writers’ Center in Sleepy Hollow. Her poetry has been published in numerous journals, and she has published an interdisciplinary study, Museum Mediations.

“I enjoyed the poems’ combination of cleverness, wittiness and innovative technique, for which one usually pays a price: a draining away of heart,” said Tony Barnstone, this year’s judge. “Not in this case—these poems all have heart, big heart.”

Four finalists were also named: Karina Borowicz, Belchertown, Mass.; George Looney, Erie, Pa.; Mary Quade, Madison, Ohio; and Katy Didden, Columbia, Mo.

The prize, established in 1996 in honor of Missouri native T. S. Eliot, is awarded annually for the best unpublished book-length collection of poetry.

Previous Next