Truman Receives Continued Accreditation

The Higher Learning Commission, a commission of the North Central Association of colleges and schools, notified University President Barbara Dixon that the Institutional Actions Council (IAC) voted to continue the accreditation of Truman State University at its meeting June 13. The Commission Board of Trustees validated the IAC action through its validation process that concluded June 24.

“Truman’s continued ten-year reaffirmation of accreditation by the Higher Learning Commission is the result of much hard work by senior administration, faculty, staff and students,” Debra Kerby, professor of accounting and self-study coordinator, said. “The reaffirmation offers confirmation that student learning and development is the focus of the University’s planning, decision-making, and educational activities.

“I would like to offer my sincere thanks to all the individuals involved in the self-study process who collected and reported the evidence that demonstrated that the University fulfilled each of the five accreditation standards.”

Truman hosted a team of evaluators from The Higher Learning Commission Jan. 31-Feb. 2.

In preparation for this visit, about 70 Truman faculty, staff and students were engaged in a comprehensive self-study process during the 2003-2004 academic year. The University submitted an evaluative written report to the HLC in December 2004.

Kerby chaired the 19-member steering committee that guided the self-study process. Five subcommittees collected, analyzed and evaluated data. The subcommittee chairs were Adam Davis, professor of English and interim director of interdisciplinary studies; Jay Bulen, associate professor of music; Doug Davenport, interim dean of social science and associate professor of justice systems; Janet Gooch, associate professor and director of communication disorders; and Karen Smith, associate professor of psychology.

Previous Next