Counseling Faculty Members Earn Recognition

Elsa Soto Leggett, associate professor of counseling, was honored by the Ashley Jadine Foundation for her work with suicide prevention and awareness throughout Houston, the fourth largest city in the nation.

Ellen Carruth
, assistant professor of counseling, was named to Washington state’s Crisis Response Intervention Strategy Committee, an advisory body to the governor and state legislative leaders on matters pertaining to community planning, intervention and response for behavioral health crises and suicide prevention services. Carruth is particularly sought after as a specialist in facilitating behavioral health services for LGBTQ+ populations and individuals with disabilities.

Lynn Pierce, assistant professor of counseling, was elected to the National Board for Certified Counselors Foundation Minority Fellowship Program Advisory Council, a body designed to increase the number of counselors in underserved communities. Pierce qualified as a candidate through demonstration of senior and expert experience providing mental health services to underserved and underrepresented populations and seeks to improve the understanding and visibility of disabled people within the counseling profession.

Previous Next