Committee Narrows Pool of Top Educator Candidates

Truman’s Educator of the Year committee has announced 12 semi-finalists from its field of nominated professors.

Students recommended 26 professors for the designation. The original nominees submitted a sample syllabus and a response to an essay prompt. The committee selected the semi-finalists based on these items and the nomination form.

The top 12 educators include: Andrea Davis, instructor in French and German; Alan Garvey, associate professor of computer science; Jon Gering, assistant professor of biology; Teresa Heckert, associate professor of psychology; John Ishiyama, professor of political science; Jeanne Mitchell, instructor in biology; Maria Nagan, assistant professor of chemistry; Lee Orchard, professor of theatre; Eric Patterson, associate professor of chemistry; Priscilla Riggle, associate professor of English; Lynn Rose, associate professor of history; and Karon Speckman, associate professor of communication.

Next, the committee will distribute questionnaires in the semi-finalist’s classes March 29-April 8. This information will be used to choose six finalists from which the winner will be chosen. Class observations are the last step in selection process.

Students from Student Senate, the Pershing Society and Phi Kappa Phi serve on the Educator of the Year committee.

The 2005 Educator of the Year will be announced at 6 p.m., May 3, at a banquet in the Student Union Building Georgian Room.

Previous Next