Cox, Herrera and Hopkins-Jorn Receive Lee Advising Award


University President Barbara Dixon (left) gathers with the William O’Donnell Lee Advising Award recipients (second from left to right) Carolyn Cox, Liz Hopkins-Jorn and Jose Herrera.

arolyn Cox, associate professor of health; José Herrera, associate professor of biology; and Liz Hopkins-Jorn, instructor in health and exercise sciences; are the 2006-2007 William O’Donnell Lee Advising Award recipients.

Dr. Jeanne Stephens Lee Blackmar established the Lee Advising Award in honor of her late husband who was a member and chair of the University’s Board of Regents during the 1970s. The award pays tribute to excellent advisers, encourages professional development and demonstrates the importance of academic advising on the Truman campus.

Cox, Herrera and Hopkins-Jorn will each receive a $1,000 development fund to be used for travel to advising conferences or institutes, research materials and other relevant items. All full-time faculty advisers are eligible for the annual award.

Recipients of the Lee Advising Award are nominated by students and colleagues and are ultimately selected by a committee.
Previous Next