Allen Fellowship Nominations Under Way

The Office of the Provost is now accepting nominations for the Walker and Doris Allen Fellowship for Faculty Excellence. The Allens established the Fellowship in 2000 with a $250,000 contribution, one of the largest gifts ever made to the Truman State University Foundation.  

The $10,000 Walker and Doris Allen Fellowships recognize outstanding faculty members who have made exemplary contributions to the success of the University and its students. The committee selects up to three faculty members each year. Tenured or tenure-track faculty who have completed at least four years of full-time service at Truman may apply for the fellowships. Truman faculty colleagues or academic departments may nominate eligible faculty. Previous recipients are not eligible.

To date, the program has completed eight years of a scheduled eight-year program and has recognized 24 faculty members with awards. Due to favorable investment returns, the Office of the Provost expects the fellowships to continue until at least 2011.

To nominate an eligible faculty member, send a letter of nomination to the Office of the Provost addressed to the Allen Fellowship Selection Committee.

The letter of nomination should be no longer than one page and should address how the faculty member fulfills the selection criteria. Deliver a signed hardcopy of the letter to McClain Hall 203, send it through campus mail or by fax to 785.7460.  

See the website for details, including selection criteria and list of prior recipients.
Turn in nominations to the Office of the Provost by Sept. 30.
Previous Next