Truman Broadcasters Bring Back Awards

Truman broadcast students collected high honors at the Missouri Broadcast Educators Association Conference April 1.

KTRM, news 36/TruNews, the Vote ‘04 news team and other students won several state awards for their work in radio and television production.

Students competed against universities throughout the state including schools with stations in the 100 markets in the nation. They competed in categories ranging from news and sports, to music video and radio air check to script writing.

The Vote ‘04 news team took first place in Radio News for their coverage of the local, state and national November elections and first place in Television News for their Iowa Caucuses and Missouri Primaries coverage.

Also winning top honors in various categories were Corey Owens, junior communication major from Blue Springs, Mo.; Diane Poelker, freshman from St. Louis; Amanda McGinley, graduate elementary education student from St. Peters, Mo.; and John Weeks, junior communication major from Chesterfield, Mo.

The KTRM news team, Jonathan Thacker, senior psychology major from Kirksville, Mo., and Chris Waller, sophomore communication major from St. Joseph, Mo., earned recognition in different areas as well.

Six students represented Truman at the conference, which included several panels on student media operations and professional development sessions.

Elizabeth Clark, associate professor of communication and the adviser of news 36/TruNews, accompanied the student group. She is the immediate past president of the Missouri Broadcast Educators Association, and serves on the committee for the group’s annual research conference.

Previous Next