President of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis to Speak at Truman

William Poole, president of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, will visit Truman Feb. 19 and 20 to meet with Truman finance students and deliver the 2008 Joseph Baldwin Lecture at 12:30 p.m Feb. 20 in the Student Union Building Georgian Room.

The visit, which is being sponsored by Alliant Bank and Truman State University, will mark the first visit of a president of the Eighth District Federal Reserve Bank to Kirksville.

The luncheon will be covered by Reuters News Agency who will transmit Poole’s talk to their Washington office so they can report their news on this event over their wire service. Tickets for the noon luncheon, which is open to the general public, are $10 and can be purchased at the door.

On Feb. 19 Poole will give a presentation to Truman economics and business finance classes and then be a guest at a public reception in the Student Union Building Georgian Room B sponsored by Truman and Alliant Bank.

Poole took office in 1998 as the 11th chief executive of the Eighth District of the Federal Reserve. He serves as a voting member of the Federal Open Market Committee, which brings his District’s perspective to policy discussion in Washington.
He received his A.B. degree in 1959 from Swarthmore College and an M.B.A. in 1963 and a Ph.D. in economics in 1966, both from the University of Chicago. Swarthmore honored him with a Doctor of Laws degree in 1989.

Poole began his career at the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve in 1964 and worked as a senior economist there from 1969 to 1974. In 1974, he joined the faculty at Brown University in Providence, R.I., twice served as chairman of the economics department, and for five years directed the university’s Center for the Study of Financial Markets and Institutions. He was the Herbert H. Goldberger Professor of Economics there when he joined the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

The Eighth District of the Federal Reserve, which is located in St. Louis, covers the state of Arkansas, 44 counties in southern Illinois, 24 counties in southern Indiana, 64 counties in western Kentucky, 39 counties in northern Mississippi, 71 counties in central and eastern Missouri, the city of St. Louis and 21 counties in western Tennessee.
Previous Next