Tetlak Recognized as Educator of the Year, Gokhale Named Research Mentor of the Year

Alex Tetlak was named the Educator of the Year and Vayujeet Gokhale earned Research Mentor of the Year honors during the annual Accolades of Academics banquet in April.

These awards seek to honor outstanding faculty at Truman who have devoted extraordinary effort to invest in their students.

Tetlak is an instructor in classics. He was nominated by Bailey Jarman, Wyatt Mansell and Taylor Burgert. Other nominated faculty members include Jeff Gall, Diane Janick-Buckner, Curran Prendergast, Robert Tigner and Alicia Wodika.

Gokhale is a professor of physics and was nominated for the award by Tyler Gardner. Other nominees include Michael Bird, Michelle Boyd, Paula Cochran, Nancy Daley-Moore and Jennifer Hurst.

Faculty members honored at the Accolades of Academics banquet were all nominated by students and were awarded by a student-driven committee. Members from Student Government, the Pershing Society and Phi Kappa Phi serve on the Educator of the Year committee. Students have the opportunity to nominate instructors for these awards each year at senate.truman.edu.

Alex Tetlak poses with the students who nominated him for the Educator of the Year award. Pictured, from left, Sue Thomas, executive vice president for academic affairs and provost, Bailey Jarman, Tetlak, Wyatt Mansell and Taylor Burgert.

Vayujeet Gokhale (center) takes a picture with Tyler Gardner and Sue Thomas. Gokhale received the Research Mentor of the Year award after being nominated by Gardner.