Homecoming Honorees Announced

Several Truman alumni will be recognized at the Alumni and Friends/Hall of Fame Banquet at 6 p.m. Oct. 10 as part of the Homecoming 2014 celebration. Each week the Truman Today will profile different award honorees. This week looks at the Homecoming Parade Grand Marshals.

This year Truman’s grand marshals, Robert and Jane Dager, will have the special honor of leading the parade as it travels from downtown Kirksville through campus.

Robert “Bob” Dager served 25 years at Truman State University before retiring as head of the Division of Business and Accountancy in June 1999. Bob came to Truman in 1974 as an assistant professor of business and was soon named head of the division in 1977 after being promoted to full professor. From 1989-90, he served as interim president of the University. During his tenure, he acted as head for the Division of Education, began and directed the John R. Kirk Honors Institute and oversaw the University Career Center. He chaired the committee for the renovation of Violette Hall.

Bob has served the Kirksville community as an active member of numerous organizations. He received the Kirksville Area Chamber of Commerce Hall of Fame Award in 1999, was named Kiwanian of the Year in 1981 and Citizen of the Year in 1980. He served as president of the Kirksville Kiwanis Club, vice president of the Chariton Valley Association for Handicapped Citizens, director of the Northeast Missouri State Bank, board member of the United Way and board member of the Kirksville Country Club. Bob is currently a member of the Truman State University Foundation Board of Directors.

Jane was born and raised in Indiana. She is a graduate of Ball State University with a degree in speech pathology/deaf education and a graduate of Kirksville Area Technical Center. Jane worked as a clinic nurse for the past 20 years and is currently employed at Northeast Missouri Health Council’s OB/GYN Clinic. Over the years, Jane has actively served the Mary Immaculate Home and School, the PTA, Welcome Wagon, Sojourners Club, Mary Immaculate Peacemakers and the University Dames.

The 2014 Homecoming honorees are listed below.

Alumni of the Year
: Mike McClaskey ('85) & Janet (Yearns) McClaskey ('84)
Young Alumni of the Year: Ryan Shreve ('02) & Lauren (Rase) Shreve ('03)
Distinguished Service Award: Cynthia M. Spiker ('93)
Homecoming Parade Grand Marshals: Robert Dager & Jane Dager
Bulldog Forever Volunteer of the Year Award: Michael A. Wilson ('91)
Alumni Chapter of the Year: TBA
Athletics Hall of Fame Inductees: Kristina Bredbenner (’01), Sam Lesseig, Sam Nugent and Cory Parker (’00)

More information on each of these awards, past recipients and how to nominate someone can be found at truman.edu/alumni-donors/awards-recognition/, or you can contact bulldogforever2@truman.edu. To purchase banquet tickets visit the online Alumni Store.

Previous Next