Scholarship Celebrates 40th Year

The Pershing Society Scholarship Program celebrated its milestone 40th anniversary March 1 on campus.

Nearly 300 Truman Pershing alumni, current Pershing Scholars, administrators, faculty and staff involved with the program were there to honor Dr. Charles McClain, former University President, for his vision and foresight in establishing the program. A campaign to fully fund a Pershing Scholar was announced with a million dollar goal. To date, the “Thanks a Million, Dr. McClain” campaign has raised more than $550,000.

Attendees enjoyed campus tours and a welcome reception. Later in the day, everyone gathered for a luncheon that featured several speakers including Truman State University’s first Rhodes Scholar, Andrew McCall (’10), Missouri Supreme Court Chief Justice Mary R. Russell (’80), Foundation Board President and Board of Governors member, Sarah Burkemper (’92), Alumni Board member, Pamela Popp (’83), University President Troy Paino, and honored guest, President Emeritus Dr. Charles McClain.

Pershing alumni and others paid tribute to Dr. McClain for his life-long contributions to the education that impacted the lives of so many; one attendee even described the experience of the day as “epic.”

More information on the Pershing Celebration, and to read the memories others have shared in the online guestbook, visit us at For more information on the “Thanks a Million, Dr. McClain” campaign, contact Brad Chambers or Denise Smith in the Office of Advancement, 660.785.4133.