Speech and Debate Team Starts Season with Win

Truman’s debate team placed first overall in the debate sweepstakes Oct. 5-6 at the Bradley/ISU 74 Swing Tournament in Central Illinois.

The first half of the Dan Smith Invitational Tournament was Oct. 5 at Bradley University. Maddie Ebert and Myra Milam were the tournament’s co-champions in the Lincoln-Douglas Debate. Nick Gorman broke into the semifinals in the same debate. Milam won the first place speaking award, Ebert took second and Gorman took third. Anson Long-Seabra placed first in novice prose.

The second half of the tournament took place Oct. 6 at Illinois State University. Donny Richardson and Sarah Muir were the tournament’s co-champions in the open Lincoln-Douglas debate. John Carney advanced to the semifinals in the same debate. Muir won the first place debate speaker award, while Richardson took third place. Jake Buxton took second place in novice debate, and won the first place speaker award in that division. Long-Seabra placed fifth in novice prose.

For more information or questions about the speech and debate team, contact the director Kristi Scholten at kscholten@truman.edu.