Clapp and Smith Receive Lee Advising Award


William O’Donnell Lee Advising Award winners Randy Smith (left) and Kay Clapp (right) gather with President Barbara Dixon (center).

ay Clapp, professor of education, and Randy Smith, professor of music, were presented the William O’Donnell Lee Advising Award.

Dr. Jeanne Stephens Lee Blackmar established the Lee Advising Award in honor of her late husband who was a member and chair of the University’s Board of Regents during the 1970s. The award pays tribute to excellent advisers, encourages professional development and demonstrates the importance of academic advising on the Truman campus.

Clapp and Smith will each receive a $1,000 development fund to be used for travel to advising conferences or institutes, research materials and other relevant items. All full-time faculty advisers are eligible for the annual award.

Recipients of the Lee Advising Award are nominated by students and colleagues and are ultimately selected by a committee.
Previous Next