Ten Truman students were named 2008-2009 LEAP Scholarship Recipients by the Missouri Society of Certified Public Accountants at their Annual Competition and Awards ceremony June 5 at the Lake of the Ozarks. They are: Jessi Bays, O’Fallon, Mo.; Joseph Buterbaugh, Kirksville, Mo.; Eric Hansen, Old Monroe, Mo.; Joseph Higgins, St. Charles, Mo.; Kourtney House, St. Louis, Mo.; Maxwell LaFoy, St. Charles; Daniel Leatherman, Chillicothe, Mo.; Helen Pham, Kirksville; and John Sturgeon, Kirksville.

Nabil Alghalith, professor of business administration, had his article “Team Skills: Using Course-Embedded Assessment for Assurance of Learning,” accepted by the International Journal of Education Research. He also presented this paper at the IABPAD conference and won the Best Research Award.

Datha Damron-Martinez, assistant professor of business administration, recently had two articles published. The first, “Examining the Effectiveness of Athlete Celebrity Endorser Characteristics and Product Brand Type: The Endorser Sexpertise Continuum,” was accepted for publication in the Journal of Sport Administration and Supervision. It was co-authored with Christina Simmers and Diana Haytko. The second article, “The Effect of Product Placement on Consumer Information Processing,” also co-authored with Simmers, recently appeared in the International Journal of Integrated Marketing Communications.

Sarah Delaware, associate professor of nursing
, gave a podium presentation entitled “Danger! Hazardous Duty Ahead!” at the 8th Annual International Nursing Simulation/Learning Resource Centers Conference, June 13 in St. Louis. Pamela Melvin, assistant professor of nursing, also attended the conference.

Warren Gooch, professor of music
, presented a paper entitled “Symmetry and Circles in Boccherini’s Symphony in F Major, G.512” at the 2009 annual workshop of the Macro Analysis Creative Research Society. The workshop took place June 12-13 in Madison, Wis.

David Wohlers, professor of chemistry, traveled to Washington, D.C. June 8-11 to attend the Joint Annual Meeting of Principal Investigators sponsored by the Human Resource Development Division of the Education and Human Resources Directorate of the National Science Foundation.  As the appointed representative of the research team, he reported on the progress to date of the grant entitled Independent Laboratory Access for the Blind and Low Vision Students in a Mainstream High School Science Classroom-National Science Foundation Grant HRD-0726417. More than 70 representatives of various grants from the Research in Disabilities Education program attended and shared results. The breakout sessions provided opportunities to dialog on current projects and promote future ideas.
Previous Next