Educator of the Year Search Narrows

Truman's 2006 Educator of the Year Committee has announced six finalists from the record-breaking field of 66 nominated professors.

The decision for finalists was based on the nomination forms submitted, the professors' essay responses and the classroom surveys of the professors' students. The finalists include: Adam Brooke Davis, professor of English and interim director of Interdisciplinary Studies; Pamela Gardner, assistant professor of nursing; John Ishiyama, professor of political science; Marie Orton, associate professor of Italian; Eric Patterson, associate professor of chemistry; and Karon Speckman, associate professor of communication.

Between April 5-14, the committee will sit in on lectures in the finalists' classes. They will choose the winner at the conclusion of the observations.

The new Educator of the Year will be announced at a banquet at 6 p.m., May 2, in the Student Union Building Georgian Room. All of the nominees will be honored at this time. All students, faculty and staff are invited to attend. For more information or to receive an invitation to the banquet, contact the committee at R.S.V.P.'s for all guests are due by 5 p.m., April 21.

Members of Student Senate, Phi Kappa Phi and the Pershing Society comprise the Educator of the Year Committee.
Previous Next