Academic Competition Organization Hosts First Northeast Missouri Academic Challenge

The Northeast Missouri Academic Challenge, held on March 25, was Truman’s Academic Competition Organization (ACO)’s first high school quiz bowl tournament. It was targeted toward schools from northeast Missouri as part of ACO’s effort to promote academic competition in the area. The tournament’s goal is to provide teams with a final opportunity to hone their skills just before district tournaments begin in Missouri.

The teams were divided into two pools based on school size. In the larger-school Purple Division, Kirksville won the championship. In the smaller-school White Division, Scotland County came away with top honors. Other schools competing in the tournament included Schuyler R-1, Hannibal, Fort Zumwalt West, Elsberry, Brookfield, Westran, Knox County, Canton, North Shelby, Marion County and La Plata.

The event was hosted by the Academic Competition Organization, with Truman students and faculty serving as readers, scorekeepers and timekeepers.

The Academic Competition Organization would like to thank the following members of the Truman community for assisting in making the first Northeast Missouri Academic Challenge a success: Kathryn Brammall, associate professor of history and managing editor of the “18th Century Journal;” James Guffey, professor of mathematics; Randy Hagerty, professor of political science; John Allen, a senior biology major from Chesterfield, Mo.; Jordan Bergsten, a junior psychology major from Independence, Mo.; Jon Deering, a sophomore history and pre-secondary education double major from Montgomery City, Mo.; Kendal Geno, a freshman biology major from Brookfield, Mo.; Tim Gerhart, a junior history and pre-secondary education double major from Belleville, Ill.; Robert Kelchen, a senior business administration and economics double major from Hiram, Ga.; Emily Kiddoo, a sophomore political science major from Memphis, Mo.; Becca Hoelting, a junior psychology major from Webster Groves, Mo.; Stacey Hollerauer, a senior communication major from Williamsville, Ill.; Brian Jansen, a sophomore history major from Quincy, Ill.; Becca Maddox, a junior from Macon, Mo.; Sarah Maddox, a senior English and pre-secondary education major from Macon, Mo.; and Will Tollerton, a senior history major from Laclede, Mo.
Previous Next