Truman Students Represent State at National Conference

Students Jacob Caughron, Joanne Chong, Jeananne Pigeon, Megan Recklein and Ashton Wolter represented the state of Missouri at the Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda National Leadership Conference in Anaheim, Calif., June 22-25.

These students competed in FBLA-PBL’s national business competition against state representatives from across the United States, Puerto Rico and China. At the Awards of Excellence program, it was announced that Caughron received 2nd place in Marketing Concepts and 6th in Sports Management and Marketing. Recklein earned 4th place in Information Management, 5th place in Project Management and received the Who’s Who in Phi Beta Lambda award. Wolter received 4th place in Business Communication.

Truman’s chapter received an award for the second largest chapter in the North Central region and February Frenzy Award. Truman’s chapter also received the Gold Seal Chapter of Merit Award.  

The competition is part of a competitive events program sponsored annually by FBLA-PBL, a professional association for students pursuing business careers. Individuals, local chapters and state teams compete in more than 50 events representing a range of business, career and leadership development activities. The winners of these challenging and prestigious awards are selected from FBLA-PBL’s more than 210,000 members, and have won regional and state competitions to qualify for the national awards program. The 1,800 delegates to the 61st annual conference elected national student officers and attended business and leadership workshops in addition to competing in business and career skill events. This year’s national theme, “Igniting Innovation,” reflects the goals of FBLA-PBL members.

Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda, Inc., (FBLA-PBL) is a nonprofit organization that prepares students for careers in business and business education. Its mission is to bring business and education together in a positive working relationship through innovative leadership and career development programs.

Pictured from left to right, Jacob Caughron, Ashton Wolter,
Joanne Chong, Megan Recklein and Jeananne Pigeon.