Educator of the Year Search Narrows

Truman’s Educator of the Year committee has announced six semifinalists from the field of nominated professors.

The decision for finalists was based on the nomination form submitted, the professors’ essay response and the classroom surveys of the professors’ students.

The finalists include: John Ishiyama, professor of political science; Jeanne Mitchell, associate professor of biology; Maria Nagan, assistant professor of chemistry; Eric Patterson, associate professor of chemistry; Priscilla Riggle, associate professor of English; and Lynn Rose, associate professor of history.

Between April 15-22, the committee will sit in on lectures in the finalists’ classes. They will choose the winner at the conclusion of the interviews.

The new Educator of the Year will be announced at a banquet at 6 p.m., May 3, in the Student Union Building Georgian Room. Students, faculty and staff can now purchase tickets until April 28, in the Student Senate Office. Tickets are $10 for faculty and staff and $7.50 for students. Students who have a meal plan can use one meal toward the purchase and pay $4.50.

Members of Student Senate, Phi Kappa Phi and the Pershing Society comprise the Educator of the Year Committee.

Contact Chelsea Schinnour at 636.675.3898 for more information.

Previous Next