Mariya Davidkova from Wildwood, Mo., Amy McNabb from Queen City, Mo., Molly Smith from Newton, Iowa, Julia Stefani, Michelle Van Kleeck from Cabool, Mo., and Allie Wehrman from St. Louis, all computer science majors and members of the student organization, TWICS, and Jon Beck, associate professor of computer science and the organization’s mentor, traveled to Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh to present their paper “Telephone: Phylogenetics Unplugged” at the OurCS conference, Oct. 5-7. Renee Hellebusch Niewald (’07) was also a co-author. A highlight of this conference was that the Truman group met (and had their picture taken with) Fran Allen, this year’s Turing Award winner. The Turing Award is considered the Nobel Prize of computer science.

Nicki Morgan, a sociology/anthropology major from Eolia, Mo., has been awarded Second Prize in the 2007 Alvin Gouldner Undergraduate Student Paper Competition sponsored by the Missouri Sociological Association for her paper, “Development and Identity: A Look at the Maya of Toledo District, Belize.” Morgan presented her research at the annual meeting of the Missouri Sociological Association in Lake Ozark, Mo., Oct. 19-20.
Previous Next