Barry Poyner, professor of communication, has been named parliamentarian for the Iowa State Teachers Association. Poyner served in this capacity at their annual conference in Des Moines, March 29-30. In addition, he now serves as parliamentarian for the Indiana State Teachers Association, National Education Association and National Communication Association.

Fred Shaffer, professor of psychology, received the Distinguished Scientist Award at this year’s Association of Applied Psychophysiology and Biofeedback in Denver. Shaffer was the keynote speaker.

Truman graduates continue to lead in chemistry Ph.D. degrees earned. A review of data compiled by the National Science Foundation shows that recent Truman graduates went on to earn more chemistry doctorates than undergraduates from any other institution in Missouri. Truman also ranked second for Masters colleges and universities, while ranking 33rd for all institutions of higher education.

Classics majors and faculty represented Truman at the National Classics Honor Society held at St. Olaf College in Northfield, Minn. Emily Camden was elected as the national vice president and she will be in charge of outreach and new chapter development. Joe Slama and Austin Redding presented their capstone papers and were two of only four undergraduates nationally selected for this honor. Slama’s paper was accepted for the Eta Sigma Phi panel at the Society for Classical Studies meeting in January 2020. Adam Schmitz won second place in Koine Greek in national translations contests. Truman’s certamen team made it to the semi-finals and Truman was selected to host the 2021 Eta Sigma Phi Convention.

Christina Slipke, Austin Redding, Joe Slama, Emily Camden, Amy Norgard and Bridget Thomas
Previous Next