Adam Davis, associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, attended the Missouri Folklore Society Conference in Hannibal Nov. 6-8 and presented a paper titled “Slickerin’ Deer Guts on a Doorknob:  Challenges of Folksay Research.”  Paul Niehaus, a senior music major and folklore minor from St. Louis, presented work on Kirksville artist Judy Scheurer entitled “Rocking Horses:  A Woman’s Revival.” Also representing Truman were: folklore minors Mike Bono, a senior from St. Louis, Katie Buckles, a junior from Austin, Texas, and Michelle Coolidge, a senior from Graylake, Ill.; as well as Talia Linneman, a graduate student from St. Louis; Betsy Delmonico, professor of English, and Barbara Price, associate professor of English education.

Martin Erickson, professor of mathematics,
had his mathematical problem-solving book, “Aha! Solutions,” published by the Mathematical Association of America. This is the fourth mathematics text that Erickson has authored or co-authored.

Kendal Geno, a senior biology major from Brookfield, Mo., was chosen as November’s PRIMO ACES Star Student of the Month. The Primary Care Resource Initiative for Missouri (PRIMO) provides help to people and communities to assure access to health care services for all Missourians. PRIMO can help students in medical, mental, dental or nursing programs looking for a way to pay college expenses. PRIMO program participants can receive funding for school in exchange for working in an area of designated need in Missouri. Geno is a Bryant Scholar who has been pre-admitted to the University of Missouri School of Medicine. He plans to pursue a career in family practice.

Shirley McKamie, lecturer in music, has been invited to present her research at the National Institute for Technology and Liberal Education in Norton, Mass., on Jan. 16. NITLE, which promotes research concerning the pedagogical potential of emerging digital technology, is an Andrew W. Mellon Foundation initiative comprised of 148 of the country’s leading private and public liberal arts institutions.  McKamie’s project, “Researching Ancient Rituals in the Digital Age: Music in Religious Thought and Practice (JINS 301),” not only describes her students’ innovative use of digital materials, but also details the history and success of Truman’s annual Student Research Conference.  

Joe Nedelec, instructor in justice systems,
presented a paper on “Evolutionary Criminology” at the American Society of Criminology in St. Louis, Nov. 13-14.

Antonio Scuderi, associate professor of Italian, translated into English the booklet that accompanies the classical CD, “Il Mandolino Italiano del Settecento,” which features Carlo Aonzo (mandolin) and Elena Buttiero (spinet) (Devega Records 2008). The bilingual booklet gives a brief history of the development of the mandolin in the 18th century, as well as notes on the various composers, including Arcangelo Corelli and Domenico Scarlatti, and their compositions.

The following health science students received awards/scholarships during the American School Health Association (ASHA) National Conference and Eta Sigma Gamma National Professional Health Education Honorary Meeting in Tampa, Fla., Nov. 12-15: Rebecca Verhaeghe, a senior from Baldwin City, Kan., received the American School Health Association Student Scholarship Award; Chaeli Dougherty, an August 2008 graduate from Olivette, Mo., received the American School Health Association Student Research Award; Wes Chew, a senior from Pullman, Wash., received the Eta Sigma Gamma Founder’s Award Scholarship; and Nancy Johnson, a senior from Kirksville, received the Eta Sigma Gamma’s Gamman of the Year Award/Scholarship. Truman’s Gamma Rho Chapter of Eta Sigma Gamma also won the Eta Sigma Gamma National Chapter of the Year Award/Chapter Excellence Award.

Also during the ASHA conference and Eta Sigma Gamma National Professional meeting in Tampa, Fla., Nov. 12-15, the following health science students presented their research: Desi Raygor, a sophomore from Lebanon, Mo.; Julie Hasken, a junior from Bettendorf, Iowa; Ann Bruno, a junior health science and chemistry double major from Columbia, Mo.; Ashley Hartman, a sophomore from Oak Grove, Mo.; Joe Stauber, a May 2008 graduate from Glencoe, Mo.; Liz Schulte, a junior from Wildwood, Mo.; Teresa Nydegger, a junior from St. Louis, Mo.; Jenna Osseck, a junior from St. Charles, Mo.; Megan Temme, a sophomore from St. Louis, Mo.; Leslie Moss, a senior from Ballwin, Mo.; Michelle Pickens, a sophomore from Greentop, Mo.; Brittany Schultehenrich, a junior from St. Peters, Mo.; Rebecca Verhaeghe, a senior from Baldwin City, Kan.; Wes Chew, a senior from Pullman, Wash.; and Nancy Johnson, a senior from Kirksville.

Previous Next